From Gambia to Italy, the start of a new life

There is racism but it depends from person to person, I’ve been here for years, I’ve suffered acts of racism but things that don’t even make sense, the person does it not only out of meanness but also to make you angry. Episode of racism: 2017 in pozzallo a lady, we were going to the villa, we were joking and I was with Italian friends, there were animals near there once I approach for the reason of caressing her animal the lady starts throwing herself at me.

When and why did you leave your country?

For war reasons and work difficulties – I left the Country  because my mum was separated from my father whom I only saw three times in my whole life. My father eventually showed up somehow but my point of reference was the women of the house and I lived with my mum and sisters. He told me to go with him and leave them but I didn’t want to and neither did my mother – she was after us and insisted, she had other children but the only male child was me, I was important in the family, because in Gambia, the male is seen as the continuer of the family. I, however, took my mother’s surname, she is everything to me. I tried to go to Senegal and escape and I arrived at a school where they were learning the Koran, I was with the boys and we also grazed sheep there. My father followed me to Senegal when I was 12. I couldn’t stay, so I decided to go back to Gambia and run away from my father because I didn’t know anyone. Then my mother and grandmother wanted to send me away, we had heard about this phenomenon of migration in Europe, it was known, so they sent me to Libya and from there to Italy.

Where did you start your journey?

Gambia, in Farafenni my village

Which countries did you travel through?

Gambia – Senegal – Mali – burkina faso (where I was in jail for 3 days) – niger – libia – italia Based on the contacts I had, I chose the route

Why did you choose this country rather than another country?

I didn’t choose it, from Libya you arrive in international waters, we were 150 people in rubber dinghies and the first ones from Sea watch, the Germans picked us up and transferred us to the first safer port, in Italy.

What was your principal difficulty once you arrived in the host country?

Almost all the documents but I was lucky because I only waited two years, I had friends right away

Do you have a job?


Do you have local friends

Many, apart from school I play football

What do you like most in the host country?

Food – lasagne and arancini

What do you do in your spare time?

I attend public school in the evening

What do you want to do in host city?

Today I work as a waiter; in the future I would like to travel but after school and I would also like to have fun – my friends know me as tik toker – In the future I would also like to start a barman/maître training and work with languages.

Share this interview on: