Haven found in the city of Thessaloniki

When and why did you leave your country?

In 2019, because I was afraid for my life and my children’s life

Where did you start your journey?

 In Iran, Mashhad

Which countries did you travel through?


Why did you choose this country rather than another country?

It was not that much of a choice; it was the closest European country and I thought it would be safe there.

What was your principal difficulty once you arrived in the host country?

I honestly spend many days in the Greek-Turkish borders trying to find food for my children, and I needed information on how to be protected as a refugee.

Do you have a job?

Yes, a part-time job as a Farsi interpreter in a local migrant organisation in Thessaloniki

Do you have local friends

I often spend time with co-workers but I do not know if we are “friends”.

What do you like most in the host country?

I feel safe and I think my children have started to like it here.

What do you do in your spare time?

I do not have much free time but when I do, I like walking around the city with my kids.

What do you want to do in host city?

I would like to start singing lessons, as it is my passion since forever and my family never let me do it.

What do you think will help newcomers?

Having access to reliable information about where to find services, as it is very confusing when you are new in Greece.

What do you miss about your country?

Not much, I think here is far better.

Share this interview on: